Group members

September 2019

February 2019: Only the most fearless minds would dare to be so cool.

Selected external awards won by our students

  • TomKat Postdoctoral Fellowships in Sustainable Energy, Stanford University
  • 2 Profiles in “Women in Nanoscience” (Che-Ning Yeh and Hua-li Nie)
  • NSF-KAUST DIY Electronics Innovation Contest
  • ECS Nanocarbons Division SES Young Investigator Award (For Dr. Jiayan Luo, based partially on his thesis work in the group)
  • Carbon Journal Prize for Outstanding PhD Thesis in Carbon Research (2 awards in 2014) (typically 1 award per year, an exception was made in 2014 to give 2 awards)
  • Josephine de Karman Fellowship (<8 awards per year to PhD candidates in any discipline in North America)
  • P.E.O. Scholar Awards (recognizes outstanding female PhD candidates in North America)
  • MRS Graduate Student Awards (2 Gold and 2 Silver awards)
  • 1000 Plan Program for Young Talents, China
  • Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad
  • Taiwanese Ministry of Education’s Scholarship for Studying Abroad
  • NSF East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes (EAPSI) Fellowship
  • NSF Graduate Fellowship (4 awards+1 honorable mention)
  • NSF Engineering Innovation Fellowship
  • NDSEG Fellowship
  • Forbes 30 Under 30
  • Clean Energy Trust Consumer Favorite Prize
  • Illinois Technology Foundation Fifty For The Future Award
  • Phi Beta Kappa